While Japan Trembles

I wake up in the morning, brush my teeth, get dressed, eat two soft boiled eggs with a cup of tea, and pack lunches for my kids. I tell them to hurry and finish their food, brush their hair, and put on their shoes. They double knot their laces. I drive them to school. I return home to sit in my still home and catch up on This American Life. I’ve missed two episodes already. What should we eat for dinner tonight? I make a shopping list. The store is quiet mid morning on a Friday. These shoppers are in no hurry. On my way home, I remember how it rained most of the day yesterday. The gloom still lingers. The air is crisp. Trees start to bud. An airplane flies above me.

This afternoon, I will pick up my kids from school, and they will run toward me in the parking lot, swinging their backpacks and lunch bags. They’ll have many things to say. And I won’t mind them talking on top of each other today.

photo from allvoices.com

Published in: on March 11, 2011 at 1:17 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://pattikim.wordpress.com/2011/03/11/while-japan-trembles/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

